Sign In

Also in this Section

The mission of the Acute on Chronic Liver Failure SIG is to promote increased understanding of the changing landscape of research into patients with chronic liver disease and cirrhosis who develop acute deterioration of their condition. Through consortia and multi-center studies, the definition, prognostication and therapeutic strategies of acute-on-chronic liver failure are explored.

The overall goal is to generate interest and encourage continuing research into this fast-increasing condition.


Watch the video recording [MP4] from their recent business meeting to learn what their focus will be in 2019.

Communications Subcommittee

  • Co-Chair: Jennifer Cindy Lai, MD
  • Co-Chair: Thomas M. Leventhal, MD
  • Member: Christophe Moreno, MD, PhD
  • Member: Rajani Sharma, MD

Education Subcommittee

  • Co-Chair: Puneeta Tandon, MD, FRCPC
  • Co-Chair: Constantine J. Karvellas, MD, SM, FRCPC
  • Member: Juan F. Gallegos, MD
  • Member: Ahmet Gurakar, MD, FAASLD
  • Member: Ruhail Kohli, MD
  • Member: Filipe Sousa Cardoso, MD, MSc
  • Member: Amrendra Mandal, MD

Global Outreach Subcommittee

  • Co-Chair: Andres Cardenas, MD, MMSc, PhD, FAASLD
  • Co-Chair: Charles Panackel, MD, DNB, DM
  • Member: Richard Moreau, MD; INSERM
  • Member: Neeraj Saraf, MD, DNB
  • Member: Luis S. Marsano, MD, FAASLD

Membership and Mentorship Subcommittee

  • Chair: Hugo E. Vargas, MD, FAASLD
  • Member: Natasha Chandok, MD, MPH
  • Member: Ethan M. Weinberg, MD
  • Member: Christina Cress Lindenmeyer, MD
  • Member: Rafael E. Cuellar, MD
  • Member: Kavish R. Patidar, DO

SIG Leadership

  • Puneeta Tandon, MD, FRCPC
  • Andres Cardenas, MD, MMSc, PhD, FAASLD
  • Jennifer Cindy Lai, MD
  • Anna Banc-Husu, MD
    Steering Committee
  • Zachary Fricker, MD
    Steering Committee
  • Adam James Hanje, MD, FAASLD
    Steering Committee
  • Ruben Hernaez, MD, MPH, PhD
    Steering Committee
  • Pratima Sharma, MD
    Steering Committee
  • Vinay Sundaram, MD
    Steering Committee
  • John Lingerfelt
    Staff Liaison
  • Anne Wrobel
    Staff Liaison